Tuesday, March 4, 2014

InScribed Collection By Donna Gaines (Leaving Ordinary), Wendy Blight (Living "So That"), Heather Zempel (Amazed and Confused), Jenifer Jernigan (Dive Deeper)

Before the business trip this weekend (which I am still sore over!!!!!!) I received in the mail a set of Inscribed devotional books.
I was expecting small workbook Bible Study booklets. These are some hefty books. I was really impressed.
The ones I received are the first 4 in the series (due out March 3), and 3 more will be published later in the year. If you want these for your church, Thomas Nelson has some great specials for buying in bulk for your church.

Donna Gaines' book Leaving Ordinary was birthed from a study on the Tabernacle.

Amazed and Confused by Heather Zempel "The book starts with a general overview of Old Testament history and exegetical tools for reading the minor prophets. Then, it launches into a play-by-play of the book of Habakkuk." Yes Habbakkuk! When did you last do a study on Habbakkuk?!

Heather says: "Why did I write a book on Habakkuk? The title, Amazed and Confused, is a play off God’s exhortation to the people of Judah in Habakkuk 1:5 where He says, “Look around at the nations; look and be amazed!” He continued to outline a series of tragedies that were about to befall His people. Amazing? Yes. But in a way that left them completely confused. I wrote it for a few reasons:
When people meet Habakkuk at the Marriage Supper of the Lamb, I want them to be able to say, “Yes, I read your book!”
The minor prophets carry some of the most compelling and relevant messages for our generation, and yet they are the least read pages of our Bibles.
Sometimes life doesn’t go well and God doesn’t seem to play nice, but He’s given us His promises and His presence to cling to.
We can let what we know about our circumstances dictate how we view God’s character or we can let what we know about God’s character dictate how we view our circumstances. The book of Habakkuk helps us start with God’s character."

Another one of the books in the series is  Living So That....

"Living faith-fully comes down to choices. We can make “faith-filled” choices, or we can make “faith-less”choices. Faith-less choices come easier and occur when we react quickly out of our emotions and do what comes naturally. They lead to a frazzled, highly charged, chaotic life."

From Wendy's Blog :

Faith-filled choices are more challenging. They require patience and occur when we react not out of our emotions but out of a Spirit-led heart and mind. They lead to a peaceful, content, more fulfilled life.
God’s Word meets us in the middle of our mess.
In Living So That, you’ll find prayers, biblical teaching, personal stories, application questions, “going deeper” sections, and calls to action to put into practice what you have learned.

The last book of the four is Jenifer Jernigan's Dive Deeper.
DIVE is an acronym

"Equip yourself to fall deeply in love with God’s Word through this unique, interactive Bible study. Delving into the book of Ephesians, Dive Deeper is a tool for women—those who might be satisfied and content with their Bible study and for those who find themselves fearful or numb—to d.i.v.e.(define, investigate, visualize, embrace) deeper into the living and active Word of God.

Dive Deeper comes from Jenifer Jernigan’s heart. As a preacher’s daughter, she grew up with some pretty heavy expectations to live up to. Jenifer found herself becoming numb to the things of God because the Bible stories were all too familiar. She longed to break through the serene surface of her safe place and d.i.v.e. deeper into scripture."

No comments: